Skip to content

Meet Mark

What initially got you into bikes? 
I lived in Germany for a year and had a MTB that I used as my primary transportation. I remember being amazed at how easy it was to safely get anywhere within the city and surrounding woods. Also, with the ability to bring it on a train, a car was entirely unnecessary. I became obsessed with cycling upon returning to the states. A few years later I started pedicabbing at sports, political, and music events across the country. It further engrained my belief in the bicycle’s capabilities as both a toy and a tool. It is truely the most fun and efficient means of transportation by far and I love helping others pursue their own goals in cycling!

Favorite bike memory? 
Pedicabbing the Presidential Inauguration.

What type of riding do you do? 
Primarily singletrack and gravel.

Favorite Trail/road to ride? 
Dirt roads in the Ouachita National Forest.

How many days a week are you currently riding? 

How many bikes are in your fleet currently? Have a favorite? 
3 complete bikes and 2 incomplete that I may or may not get around to building up. Favorite is the Tumbleweed Prospector.

What bikes are on your current wish list? 
No bikes but considering building a singlespeed wheelset for the Prospector.

Do you have a bike you let go of that you wish you’d kept? Why? 
I usually just run my bikes into the ground. That said, I had a Soma Groove that I miss. Moreso because of the memories I had with it than the bike itself.

What’s your favorite thing about working at TPC? 
Helping people pursue their passion in cycling!

Any cool bike trips coming up? 
Looking forward to some bikerafting overnighters this spring.

Do you prefer stock builds or putting together your own build from the frame up? 
Always frame up.

If building from the frame up, what’s your favorite build you’ve done? 
Tumbleweed Prospector with choice of rigid or suspension fork, 29” or 27.5+ wheelsets depending on what the day calls for.

Frame material of choice? 
Prefer steel though gravel bike is Ti.

Are you a data geek? 

Solo rides or group rides? 

Baggies or Spandex? 

Favorite post big ride meal? 

Go-To during ride nutrition/snack? 
Sonic tater tots.

How do you take your coffee? 

Favorite pizza toppings? 

Where did you grow up? Where’s home currently? 
Grew up in Dallas, TX. Currently reside in Little Rock, AR.

Favorite cycling event to follow/watch? 
Dot watching bikepacking races.

Prefer morning rides or evening rides?